A propos de Vivonzeureux!


le fanzine hoptimiste lucide


june 19th 2021
I want to go back home
version fran├žaise
back home
version française

JC Brouchard : Our time is now (2021)
A Vivonzeureux! publication
90 pages - 19 x 15 cm
ISBN : 978-2-9566578-1-1

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons licence :
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Free download of ebook (pdf)

Buy the printed book at TheBookEdition.com

JC Brouchard : Our time is now - A farandole of Jonathan Richman songs

JC Brouchard : Our time is now

Jonathan Richman lives his music first and foremost in the moment : he favours his brand new songs and
the exchange with his audience at his concerts. He has released many records but rarely ponders this past :
the few reissues are done without his input, there are no "deluxe" versions of his albums stuffed
with extra tracks and no retrospective box sets. This means that even some of his fans only have a truncated
knowledge of his output : some are only interested in the first incarnation of The Modern Lovers, others
only have ears for the Beserkley era or discovered him with the There's something about Mary film.
"Our time is now" is an opportunity, with the review of a farandole of more than thirty songs, to present
a panorama of a half century of Jonathan Richman songs, from "The new teller " to "Cold pizza".



A farandole of songs

  • The new teller
  • Roadrunner
  • Pablo Picasso
  • Old world
  • Lonely financial zone
  • Dodge Veg-O-Matic
  • I'm a little dinosaur / I'm a little airplane
  • The morning of our lives
  • Abdul and Cleopatra
  • Affection
  • The neighbors
  • That Summer feeling
  • The U.F.O. man
  • I must be king
  • Just about seventeen
  • Closer
  • Since she started to ride
  • Monologue about Bermuda
  • I was dancing in the lesbian bar
  • You can't talk to the dude / Let her go into the darkness
  • To hide a little thought
  • Just look at me
  • The lonely little thrift store
  • My baby love love loves me
  • You can have a cell phone, that's OK, but not me
  • When we refuse to suffer
  • Sa voix m'attise
  • Wait ! Wait !
  • Cold pizza
  • Now is better than before
A saraband of instrumentals

A flock of covers by Jonathan Richman

A sardana of covers of Jonathan Richman songs

I hear what's underneath : a virtual album of unreleased songs

A tarantella of other songs




To mark the publication of the book, I cooked up a playlist of 10 Jonathan Richman videos for PopNews.
Eat with gusto here : http://www.popnews.com/2021/07/15/jojo-richman-par-les-chemins-buissonniers

"Un autre temps que maintenant", a sonic stroll through a parallel universe of Jonathan Richman songs :

"This flight into Richman's mystery is as pleasant as the amiable and intriguing musician is", this is what Agnès Léglise writes about the book in issue 648 of Rock & Folk.

JC Brouchard : Our time is now